Billionaire MAGA Donor, Who Spoiled Supreme Court Justice Clarence Thomas, Funded 39 Insurrectionist Candidates And Officials


MEDIA CONTACT: Addie Bullock, 

ProPublica’s breaking report on the ties between Justice Thomas and Harlan Crow show Crow donated to 39 prominent insurrectionists and election deniers, as well as Democratic Senators Sinema and Manchin

WASHINGTON, D.C. –  Public Wise, creator of the Insurrection Index – an online, public database documenting all individuals and organizations who played a role in the January 6th insurrection and engage in disinformation about elections – identified 39 members of the Insurrection Index who also received funding from far-right billionaire Harlan Crow. Crow also made donations to Democratic elected officials, including Senator Krysten Sinema and Senator Joe Manchin.

“ProPublica’s damning and shocking report on Justice Thomas makes one thing clear: he must resign,” said Christina Baal-Owens, executive director of Public Wise. “The billionaire MAGA donor funded a whopping 39 insurrections and election deniers, fueling the Big Lie and the dangerous mis- and dis-information that runs rampant across our country. Let us not forget Justice Thomas’ wife, Ginni Thomas, and her direct involvement in the January 6 insurrection. With the new bombshell report from ProPublica it is abundantly clear that the Thomases pose a threat to our democracy.”

The list of insurrections and election deniers that Crow has donated to includes:

Elected Officials: 

  1. Representative Ann Wagner (R,MO-02) 
  2. Representative August Pfluger (R, TX-11) 
  3. Representative Beth Van Duyne (R, TX-24) 
  4. Representative Stephanie Bice (R, OK-05) 
  5. Representative Dan Bishop (R, NC-08) 
  6. Senator Katie Britt (R, AL) 
  7. Representative Carol Miller (R, WV – 01)
  8. Senator Cindy Hyde-Smith (R, MS)
  9. Representative Claudia Tenney (R, NY -24) 
  10. Representative Dan Crenshaw (R, TX-02)
  11. Representative Debbie Lesko, (R, AZ-08)
  12. Representative Elise Stefanik (R, NY-21)
  13. Senator Mike Lee (R, UT) 
  14. Senator J.D. Vance (R, OH)
  15. Representative Kevin McCarthy (R, CA-20)
  16. Representative Lance Gooden (R, TX-05) 
  17. Representative Matt Rosendale (R, MT-02)
  18. Representative Mike Garcia (R, CA-27)
  19. Representative Pete Sessions (R, TX-17) 
  20. Senator Ron Paul (R, KY) 
  21. Senator Ron Johnson (R, WI) 
  22. Representative Maria Elvira Salazar (R, FL-27)
  23. Senator Steve Daines (R, MT) 
  24. Senator Tedd Budd (R, NC) 
  25. Representative Jodey Arrington (R, TX-19) 
  26. Representative Jeff Van Drew (R, NJ-02)
  27. Representative Derrick Van Ordern (R, WI-03) 
  28. Representative Virginia Foxx (R, NC-05) 
  29. Representative Vicky Hartzler (R, MS-04) 
  30. Representative Pete Stauber (R, MN-08)
  31. Senator Mike Collins, (R, GA-10) 
  32. Representative Nicole Malliotakis, (R, NY-11) 
  33. Representative Monica De La Cruz Hernandez, (R, TX-15) 
  34. Senator David Perdue, (R, GA) 
  35. State Representative Mike Gallagher (R, CA) 



  1. Mehmet Oz, candidate for Senate in Pennsylvania
  2. Adam Laxalt, candidate for Senate in Nevada 
  3. Herschel Walker, candidate for Senate in Georgia
  4. Former Representative Mayra Flores, (R, TX-34) 


About Public Wise 

Persistent and unyielding in our commitment to a just multiracial democracy, Public Wise fights to secure a government that reflects the will and protects the rights of the people. We accomplish this through education, research, organizing, funding, and partnerships that support more voting and more equitable representation.